10 questions, Uncategorized
Comments 3

10 Questions for a Book Lover – dwgitau (Diana)

 

Name: Diana

Blog:  http://dwgitau.wordpress.com

 

 – THE TEN QUESTIONS –

  1. What’s the first book you remember reading by yourself?

I can’t remember the exact first book that I read but the first book that really made an impression on me was The River Between by Ng’ugi wa Thiongo (African Literature). Ng’ugi is a Kenyan author who mostly writes about the colonial era in Kenya.

 

  1. What’s your favourite book?

At the moment my favorite book is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. It’s the last book that I read that left me with the biggest book hangover. The book broke my heart and continues to haunt me.

bookthief

 

  1. Who is your favourite author?

John Grisham. I read The Client in my early teens and got hooked on his style of writing. I have now read all his books. I think he is one of the best fiction writers in the world.

 

  1. If you could have afternoon tea with one author who would it be?

Khaled Hosseini, I love his three books and would over to hang out with him and hear him talk about his memories of the old Afghanistan where the children played and ran around with kites

 

  1. If you could spend all night in a bar with one author who would it be?

Sophie Kinsella. She just seems like great company.

 

  1. Where is your favourite place to read?

I love reading while on the road so I always carry a book in my handbag. I spend about 3 hours each day in traffic (Nairobi is hectic) to and from work and school in the evenings so this gives me plenty of time to read on the road

book

 

  1. Who’s your favourite book character?

Celie from The Color Purple. I really liked her and enjoyed watching her grow with each letter that she sent to God and to Nettie. She transformed into a strong, admirable, confident woman through the pages.

 

  1. Which book universe would you like to live in?

I don’t read fantasy novels so I don’t have an alternative universe that I would like to go to but if I could go to a book’s setting then that would be Southport, North Carolina which is the setting for Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks. It just sounds like the perfect small town and it’s near the ocean. I would open a coffee house and read books at the beachfront at every chance I get.

southport.jpg

 

  1. Which book would you like to make compulsory reading?

Left to Tell by Immaculée Ilibagiza. The book is about the genocide in Rwanda and offers some critical lessons especially for us in Africa about the devastation that tribalism and ethnic bias can bring to a nation.

 

  1. What are you reading right now?

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

 

– THE END –

If you would like to feature in ’10 Questions for a Book Lover’ then please send your answers to these questions along with your name and a link to your blog to: byfordsbooks.contact@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter: @ByfordsBooks

 

3 Comments

  1. Great answers! We seem to have similar tastes in books, since I’ve read most of the books you mentioned. I am actually starting starting The Shadow of the Wind next as part of a book club. We will have to compare notes when we are finished 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    • Diana says

      Great to hear that 🙂 I finished reading The Shadow of the Wind and I liked it. I hope you will enjoy it too. Looking forward to your review of the book :-)Happy Reading.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. These were fabulous answers! I was trying to remember the first book I ever read and then realized, aside from the old Dick and Jane books I probably read “Treasure Island” as my first real book. “Lord of the Rings” was another book I read in high school, but the one that gave me the chills was Truman Capote’s “In Cold Blood.” For me, my favorite book character is Alex Cross in the James Patterson series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

