10 questions
Comments 3

10 Questions for a Book Lover – Melanie Ifield

Name: Melanie Ifield

Blog: www.melanieifield.com

– THE TEN QUESTIONS –

1.What’s the first book you remember reading by yourself?

The Black Stallion, at least, that’s how I remember it, though probably a Golden Book, with large words and mostly pictures, is closer to the truth, though it no doubt had a horse in it. I was a horse mad young girl. I still love horses, but in no way could I still be described as a ‘young girl’.

2. What’s your favourite book?

Wow – that’s a tough one. I can’t escape it by saying it depends on my mood? No? Ok, well, then I’ll dig deep and say Alistair Maclean’s Fear is the Key. The author is simply a genius with the way he builds tension, characters and a story. That and Desmond Bagley’s Running Blind, are amazing for crime and dark doings.

Alistair_Maclean_–_Fear_is_the_KeyDesmond_Bagley_–_Running_Blind

3. Who is your favourite author?

These questions are getting very hard. I love many and a lot of different genres, but if I had to pick an absolute favourite, someone I go to over and over, I’d have to say Dick Francis. He combines sharp writing and crime, building tension along the way, with enjoyable and memorable characters.

4. If you could have afternoon tea with one author who would it be?

Georgette Heyer. Her impeccably detailed and researched period romances and adventures have humour, colourful characters and strength in all of them. They are a delight to read, even now, years after they were published.

Georgette Heyer.jpg

5. If you could spend all night in a bar with one author who would it be?

Anthony Ryan. I love his heroes and even the villains, to some extent. I’d love the chance to pick his brain.

6. Where is your favourite place to read?

In my armchair, curled up, with a cup of green tea. Especially if it’s dark and gloomy and rainy, then I can grab a doona and feel completely cocooned.

7. Who’s your favourite book character?

Hermione Granger. Smart, sassy, magical and gets to play around at Hogwarts. What is not to love?

hermin.gif

8. Which book universe would you like to live in?

I always thought I’d say something in the fantasy line for this – you know, dragons wizards and swords. But they usually don’t have penicillin and hot running water and electricity. However, I get magic and modern conveniences if I choose the world of Harry Potter and truly, who wouldn’t have wanted to go to school at Hogwarts?

9. Which book would you like to make compulsory reading?

Melanie Rawn’s Dragon Prince series; they are full of incredible characters, with lives that are realistic (well, for fantasy!) and complex. They not only show the hero inside, but also the shadows of people. I don’t think magic and dragons ever age, no matter when they are printed.

10. What are you reading right now?

Cursor’s Fury, by Jim Butcher. Fabulous fantasy that has a bit of everything – scary creatures, magic, ancient beginnings in a Romanesque background and strong characters. Delightful epic fantasy.

– THE END –

If you would like to feature in ’10 Questions for a Book Lover’ then please send your answers to these questions along with your name and a link to your blog to: byfordsbooks.contact@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter: @ByfordsBooks

Follow Melanie on Twitter: @MelanieIfield

3 Comments

    • Hi! Sorry for the late reply. I’ve been so busy finishing my university dissertation and I’ve been in London for the last couple of days. I’ll be sure to get together a Playlist Shuffle post in a day or two. Thanks for tagging me!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment